RNZN COMMUNICATOR'S ASSOCIATION

Annual General Meeting Minutes

Time/Date: 1130 Saturday 5 October 2019

Venue: Birkenhead RSA

Apologies: Dave Carroll, Jim Cassin, David Synott, Otis Young, Ian Jacques, Gary Ellis, Danny Kaye, George Randell, Neil and Lynne Dorset, Jim and Vicki Dell, Bob McKenzie, Murray Nash, Harvey Graham, Chuck and Ali Berry, Michael Dinwiddie, Neal Catley, John Bullock, Leigh Staples, Noel Kinnimont, Dennis Powell, Chris Farrow, Barry Walden, Bob and Yvonne Ohlson

Present:

Jim Blackburn, Greg Hanson, Barry Jordan, Sandy Watson, Vicki Reti, John Titmus, Frank Rands, Rod and Dearne Berry, Gary Houghton, Brian Henman, Dale Leggett, Peter Mitchell, Red Mathews, Rex Rodgers, Jerry Payne, Colin Burgess, Kerry Hamilton and Jan Luttrell Guest: Dan Bidois MP for Northcote

Meeting open by the "Ode" to reflect absent Communicators.

Recognition of two life members present Jim Blackburn and Frank
Rands

Minutes from the previous AGM 1 October 2018Matters arising: All items in the agenda to this meeting

Moved Sandy Watson Seconded Vicki Reti

Presidents Report

Presidents Report was presented to the gathered

Moved Frank Rands Seconded Brian Henman

Treasurers Report:

Treasurer report was received

Moved Vicki Reti Seconded Greg Hanson

Vote of thanks for the treasurer for an excellent report

Correspondence

There was a significant amount of correspondence over the period mainly to do with the following issues:

- South East Asia Medallic Recognition CDF/MOD
- Ex Servicemen and women, Veterans issues VANZ/MOVA
- NZRSA Affiliate Membership

Moved Barry Jordan Seconded Brian Henman

Election of Executive and Committee

Nominations

President Gary Houghton

Vice President Jim Cassin

Secretary John Titmus

Treasurer Dearne Berry

Committee

Frank Rands, Dave Carroll, Dale Leggett, Jim Blackburn, Greg Hanson, Sandy Watson, Vicki Reti, Rod Berry and Barry Jordan

As no voting was required for any of the executive and the committee member numbers were within the constitution it was unanimously agreed to vote in the above committee.

All agreed by a show of hands

Communicator of the Year

ACWS Morris HMNZS Canterbury
Presentation will be at the Communicators Cocktail Party in
November. Jim Blackburn and Sandy Watson will attend
Jim Dell and Karen Slight awards will also be presented.
Appropriate engraving has been approved for the three awards
Moved Sandy Watson Seconded Rod Berry

RNZNCA BLOG

The webmaster lead a discussion on the management of the BLOG. It was decided to investigate and advise costs to future proof the Blog.

Moved John Titmus Seconded Jim Blackburn

SEA Medallic and VSA Recognition

At this stage the members were briefed on the work to date the Association has been doing with CDF and VANZ to draw attention to some significant recognition issues. The Association continues to advocate on behalf of its members on the following matters

- SEA Medallic Recognition for FESR/ANZUK
- Veterans Support Act Qualifying Operational Service issues
- Burial Act for ex servicemen and women.

At this stage the local MP Dan Bidois was introduced to the members and recorded his interesting helping the Association and our members to take change to the Government on NZDF/VANZ grievances or injustices.

Mr Dan Bidois was thanked for his attendance.

The meeting was closed at 1257